fbpx

What is HALAL?

Halal is an Arabic word which literally means permissible and in translation it is used as lawful. Halal are  all the things which is not forbidden in the religion. The antonym to halal is haram, which means unlawful or forbidden. If something is harmful to Muslims or if it has more harm than benefit, it is forbidden to Muslims. In the haram and halal described in verses, good and good things are rendered halal, but what is filthy and harmful to man is rendered as haram. There are some rules in the Islam. These rules are obeyed to protect human’s honour and rights. Also the rules are required for human to make away from sins and bad acts. There is peace in this world and hereafter if people show their obedience on the rules. If the person obeys, he is seemed as good person in the society.

What is Halal video. Questions and answers.

All foods are considered halal except the following (which are haram):

  • Alcoholic drinks and intoxicants,
  • Non-Halal Animal Fat,
  • Enzymes* (Microbial Enzymes are permissible),
  • Gelatine* – from non-Halal source (fish gelatine is Halal),
  • L-cysteine (if from human hair),
  • Lard,
  • Lipase* (only animal lipase need be avoided),
  • Non-Halal Animal Shortening,
  • Pork, Bacon / Ham and anything from pigs,
  • Unspecified Meat Broth,
  • Rennet* (All forms should be avoided except for plant / microbial / synthetic – rennet obtained from halal slaughtered animal is permissible),
  • Stock* (a blend of mix species broth or meat stock),
  • Tallow* (non-Halal species),
  • Carnivorous animals, birds of prey and certain other animals,
  • Foods contaminated with any of the above products.

(*May be consumed if derived from Halal animals.)

Some verses clarify unlawful foods and help believers practicing. For example;

  • Surat’ul Maida (88) says: ‘And eat of what Allah has provided for you (which is) lawful and good’.
  • Surat’ul Maida (4) says: O you who have believed, fulfill (all) contracts. Lawful for you are the animals of grazing livestock except for that which is recited to you (in this Qur’an) – hunting not being permitted while you are in the state of ihram. Indeed, Allah ordains what He intends.

Also there is some situation that people cannot do anything such as they are starving and there is no food. This is an emergency issue and in this position Allah lets believer to eat if they have unlawful foods in limited way (the limit is to keep them alive) A verse explains this situation: 

Surat’ul Anam (119) says: ’And why should you not eat of (the flesh of) that over which Gods Name has been pronounced, seeing that He has clearly spelled out to you what He has made unlawful to you unless you are constrained to it by dire necessity? But, indeed many people lead others astray, driven by their lusts and caprices without any knowledge (from God). Indeed your Lord is He Who knows best those who exceed the bounds.’

The religion Judaism is much more sensitive about the topic exception Islam. There are many states in the old testament. There is a term which is called kosher (lawful) and it refers what is halal and can be eaten. In other hand there is Christianity. There is not a laundry list of acceptable or forbidden foods for them.